The Wandering Mind


The Tribe of Benjamin: Israel

Posted in The Twelve Tribes by wandren on 12 June 2009

http://www.bibletruthonline.com/whoarethe12tribesOFisrael.htm

Genesis 49:27 Benjamin shall ravin as a wolf: in the morning he shall devour the prey, and at night he shall divide the spoil.

Why is the Tribe of Benjamin ALSO the Nation of Israel? Benjamin is joined with the Tribe of Judah and it still is today.  Judah and Benjamin ARE the Southern Kingdom which comprises the modern Nation of Israel. Remember, when the Israelites split into two kingdoms at the start of the reign of Solomon’s son Rheoboam, the tribe of Benjamin was the only one to remain with Judah (1 Kings 12:21).

The Tribe of Benjamin is also part of the verse where it is said “first to the Jews, then to the Gentiles” (Romans 1:16).  Notice that almost all of the disciples of Jesus are from the Tribe of Benjamin NOT the Tribe of Judah. The chief Benjamite and chief writer of the New Testament is Paul, a Benjamite of Benjamite, who was trained at the feet of Gamliel:

Isaiah 51:4-5 (KJV) Hearken unto me, my people; and give ear unto me, O my nation [My Church]: for a law shall proceed from me, and I will make my judgment to rest for a light of the people. My righteousness is near; my salvation is gone forth, and mine arms shall judge the people; the isles shall wait upon me, and on mine arm shall they trust.

The Southern Kingdom is Judah and Benjamin — They go into captivity together and come out of captivity together – they come out of captivity as the modern nation of Israel!  Once again, the nation of Israel is the Southern Kingdom and is comprised of the Tribes of Benjamin and Judah.

Leave a Reply

